Lessons from My Abuela’s Life

I had the privilege and honor of speaking at my abuela’s funeral this week.  As might be expected, it was tough, but it forced me to reflect on the lessons that I’ve learned (directly and indirectly) from her life. I wanted to share!

1. Take care of what belongs to you. My abuela grew up and raised a family on the heels of the Great Depression. So, she took pride in what belonged to her (and especially the people who belonged to her). Her home was simple, but organized, clean, and inviting.

2. Say what you mean and mean what you say. Anyone who knew abuela knew that she never minced words. Everyone knew how she felt on any given subject or issue in a few short sentences. And her point of view was always pushed by her character . . . she simply was a great woman.

3. Make and enjoy good food. Abuela could cook and make a delicious plate of food faster than anyone I’ve ever known . . . and even if there were 100 people–all unexpected!–she could make the food last.

4. Love your family, with the good, the bad, and all of the in between. Every family has its “stuff,” its “baggage.” Abuela knew this, but she loved everyone in our family anyway. She was the matriarch, and she led by example. She loved all of us, and did so unconditionally.

We miss you abuela . . .

2 thoughts on “Lessons from My Abuela’s Life

  1. Joe, i’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother. But grateful she’s in god’s hands. I have you and your family in my prayers, and I’m glad to see the great things you’ve learned from her life. My grandmother passed not too long ago and I know she is always with me (: Its a great thing to be able to learn from the lives of those we love.

Leave a Reply

