Are You Proud of Your Church?

Confession Booth ela2007

As a pastor (and more importantly as a Christian), I realize that churches are made up of imperfect people who are on a road to psychological  emotional, and spiritual recovery in Christ (Romans 8:28-29). Of course, I include myself in this diagnosis. Be that as it may, I still believe that, with all of the imperfections and idiosyncrasies that make churches what they are, you and I have to plant ourselves in churches that we can be proud to be a part of. Why? Because we don’t cooperate in something that we don’t believe it. Too often today, I hear people decry their churches: it’s programs, what it does or doesn’t offer, the people who do or don’t attend. We have to decide to settle, and then — with blood, sweat, and tears — contribute to pressing forward the Kingdom of God by serving in that local congregation.

This weekend was another weekend that my church, New City Church, made me proud. We ran the ING Marathon, meeting our $10,000 goal to bring clean water to Haiti. Most were 1st time runners! We had a wonderful picnic afterwards, with great fellowship, food, and South Florida sunshine. We laughed, talked, and sharpened each other on what God was doing in our lives through recent events. I always feel like I’m part of something when I’m with NCC people.

Are you a member of a church that you can be proud of? Membership/fellowship is so important that it can’t be overestimated. What God does in and through us as we cooperate and identify with other Christians is indispensable to the Christian life. So let me encourage you to find a church that you can be proud to be a part of, grow there, serve there, love there . . . and allow what happens to you there to press you into your city with the love of Christ.

Blessings,

Joe

Leave a Reply

