A God Who Allows U-Turns

u-turn-road-sign

“Come on, let’s go back to God.” Hosea 6:1, The Message Translation

In a society that demands perfection as seen in edited status updates and photoshopped pics, it’s easy to forget that the most important Person from whom we should seek acceptance is both merciful and gracious. I find that comforting. I have done a lot of foolish things and I’m hardly photoshopped in person! But it’s inescapable: we’re regularly judged on the basis of our mistakes, our shortcomings, our disagreements, assigned titles with negative connotations like “divorced,” “passed over,” “losers bracket.”

I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of living up to (or trying to live up to) the expectations of people who are only out to set up more difficult standards for me to meet with every successful step I take. I’m turning back, and focusing only on a loving God’s approval. His acceptance is based on the fact that He is love, and His love has provided the basis for my acceptance in Jesus. He will always accept me. And when I’m wrong (which happens often!), He graciously also allows u-turns.

Blessings,

Joe

Leave a Reply

