I Am the Angry Turkey: AKA Thanksgiving Grinch

img_16901

For the past few weeks, I have been leading our church through a series titled “Growing a Heart of Thanksgiving.” I guess God decided to put me to the test. I have to be honest, I haven’t got one–a heart of thankfulness–at least not presently.

Actually, I’m not sure I ever have had one. I’m the guy who sees the dark cloud… What silver lining? I don’t see any lining. Even with the silver lining, that dark cloud is probably going to wreak some havoc. Life is tough. Maybe you’ve noticed. If you have noticed, then that attests to your perspective. And thankfulness is all about perspective and focus. What’s my perspective right now? My exasperation level is at 18 on a scale of 1-10. Thankfulness? Nah. I’m just trying not to lose it!

I know His eye is on the sparrow. I know He works all things for good. I know His love for me and mine is unmatched. I know. I know. I know. But I simply don’t live life in a theoretical theology class. I live life in the flesh. Theology doesn’t hurt on paper. It hurts in the flesh.

Anyway, back to perspective. My perspective is, I guess that it’s important to be thankful for what is instead of what’s not, for what’s right instead of what’s wrong, for who “they” are instead of who they’re not. Yes, the cloud is beautiful, with or without the silver lining. But this takes discipline and focus to see, and the last thing I have is [SQUIRREL!!]…..

Truth is, my life is full of trouble and soon I will die. (That’s in the Bible, too). But when I die, I will be with Jesus. And for that, I’m thankful. In the meantime, I’ll try not to be the angry turkey.

Leave a Reply

