An Imperfect Pastor’s Confession

Hallway

I’m not a perfect pastor. I’ve spoken unsympathetically, made decisions impatiently, sometimes foolishly, and led my people selfishly.

I’m not a perfect preacher. I’ve made exegetical mistakes, pressed secondary issues, stood tall on soapboxes, focused more on my ability that God’s ability in and through me.

I’m not a perfect partner. I’ve hurt my wife, said unkind things that can’t be unsaid, forgotten important moments, and overlooked feelings.

I’m not a perfect parent. I’ve discouraged when I should’ve encouraged, I’ve forced when I should’ve finessed, I’ve controlled when I should’ve allowed.

But God… He is faithful, and gives me new mercy with each day. I don’t know about you, but I plan on using it!

Leave a Reply

