Why Do You Do What You Do?

lightstock_190452_medium_user_247011

Last night, we covered a number of principles that we gleaned from the excellent book of Deuteronomy. Essentially, the name of the book, Deuteronomy, means “second law”; which, I think, may even safely imply “second chance.” You see, God had already given Israel the law, they subsequently made their mistakes, and on the eve of inheriting the blessing (the land flowing with milk and honey), God (through Moses) reminded the people of His law again and thereby offered them their second chance. Having said that, here’s the principle that I’d like to share:

God requires faith before function.

In other words, God is saying, “Don’t go into the land and conquer it and possess it because that’s what you do…. Go into the land and possess it because you believe that it’s my gift to you and no one else, and that I have blessings in store for you.”

That’s it. It’s not complicated. It’s not…calculus (yuk!). It’s not even the periodic table. It’s just that simple–God requires faith before function.

Question: how often do you make decisions about your life, your family’s life, your career, the use of your finances or time, without ever addressing the question of whether or not it’s what God wants for you? Personally, I do it all the time. Even in the area of ministry, we can do something because we do it, not because it’s what God told us to do. That’s putting function before faith.

Want a challenge? Assess your life, all your choices (even the little ones, but especially the big ones), the things that dominate the majority of your time, money, and energy for example, and ask God this question–“Do my decisions here reflect my faith in you, or do I do these things just because I’ve always done them?”

Nothing that we do should get in front of our faith in God. But everything that we do should be inspired by it.

Blessings,
Joe

2 thoughts on “Why Do You Do What You Do?

  1. Excellent topic/study last night. This is why on Wed nights I choose to plan my time, take the drive and make bible study a priority. It’s what God would want from me and my faith tells me that there is nothing more important in my world of comfort to dedicate my time to on this night. In return for obedience God has provided me with a knowledge of his word and fellowship with uplifting like minded people. Ultimately making me a more valuable servant to him. Praise God for faith before function!

Leave a Reply

